Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

Reflections on Dvořák’s “New World“ Symphony at 130, at Bohemian National Hall

Sunday March 26, 3:00 pm - 4:30 pm

$23.18 – $33.85

Celebrate spring and the “New World” Symphony in a special tribute to Antonín Dvořák and his symphonic masterpiece, marking its 130th anniversary year.

Hear musical passages adapted from the Dvořák’s Symphony No. 9 in E minor, the widely beloved “New World“ Symphony, which premiered with the New York Philharmonic at Carnegie Hall on December 16, 1893. The piece will be performed by a choir of cellists from the esteemed Violoncello Society of New York and special guest, cellist Tomáš Jamník. Dvořák’s prized Humoresque No. 7 and Piano Trio in E minor, Op. 90, The “Dumky,” will also be presented.

View the premiere of a modern ballet and musical composition inspired by the “New World” Symphony and its embrace of multicultural themes. The new work explores the rich culturaĺ heritage of the Americas incorporating dance and thematic materials from across the region North to South, with choreography by Cuban-born Pedro Ruiz and music by Venezuelan-born Moshe S. Knoll. Featuring musicians from the ArtsAhimsa ensemble and dancers from Marymount Manhattan College.

Listen also to poetry reflecting the idea of open thought and freedom in Dvořák’s work, which resonates with audiences today as much as in the late 19th century. Poetry by Vaclav Havel and Ukrainian poet Serhiy Zhadan.

Following the Spring Musicale concert, audience members are invited to visit the Dvořák Room exhibit on the 3rd floor and the Czech Center exhibit on the 2nd floor. There will be a lecture presentation at the Czech Center exhibit at 5:30 p.m.


1. Dvořák, Humoresque No. 7 arranged for cello and piano

Aurelia Faidley-Solars, cello; Moshe Knoll, piano

2. “It Is I Who Must Begin” by Václav Havel

Miroslav Konvalina, Czech reader, and Tristien Marcellous Winfree, English reader

“Rhinoceros” by Serhiy Zhadan

Marina Royzman, Ukrainian reader, and Tristien Marcellous Winfree, English reader

3. Dvořák Piano Trio in E Minor opus 90, The “Dumky”

ArtsAhimsa Trio: Laura Jean Goldberg violin; Kate Dillingham, cello; Anna Royzman, piano


4. Violoncello Society of New York Cello Choir with Czech guest Tomáš Jamnik

Themes from Dvořák’s “New World Symphony” arranged for cello choir

5. World Premiere

“A Ballet for The New World” by Pedro Ruiz, choreographer

Frankie Levita, Kayla Hsu, Greg Bantugan, Tade Biesinger, Ethan Palma, Nick Camarero, dancers from Marymount Manhattan College

Laura Jean Goldberg, violin; Kate Dillingham, cello; Moshe S. Knoll, piano; Moshe S. Knoll, composer


Visit the Dvořák Room after the concert, and view archival material about the 1893 premiere of the New World Symphony and Dvořák’s American sojourn. Curated by Majda Kallab Whitaker of DAHA.

This event is organized by the Dvořák American Heritage Association (DAHA) with support of the Bohemian Benevolent and Literary Association.


Sunday March 26
3:00 pm - 4:30 pm
$23.18 – $33.85
Event Category:
Event Tags:
, , , ,


Bohemian National Hall
321 East 73rd Street (between 1st and 2nd Avenues)
New York, NY 10021 United States