Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

Chamber Music Society of Lincoln Center Presents 1785: Works of Mozart, Mendelssohn, R. Strauss; Gilles Vonsattel, Piano

Friday April 3, 7:30 pm - 9:00 pm

$40 – $82

The piano quartet, consisting of piano, violin, viola, and cello, was basically invented by Mozart. His two immensely popular works in the genre paved the way for a far-reaching succession of piano quartets by major composers, all the way into the 20th century. With Mozart’s remarkable innovation to open this concert, contrasting works by two of the greatest German composers follow, offering a bird’s-eye view of a rich, 100-year musical landscape.

Mozart Quartet in G minor for Piano, Violin, Viola, and Cello, K. 478 (1785)
Mendelssohn Quintet No. 1 in A major for Two Violins, Two Violas, and Cello, Op. 18 (1826; rev. 1832)
Strauss Quartet in C minor for Piano, Violin, Viola, and Cello, Op. 13 (1883-84)

Gilles Vonsattel, Piano
Alexi Kenney, Violin
Arnaud Sussmann, Violin
Yura Lee, Violin/Viola
Richard O’Neill, Viola
David Requiro, Cello


Alice Tully Hall at Lincoln Center
1941 Broadway
New York, NY 10023 United States